Business

FDA approves Eli Lilly's Zepbound KwikPen, a four-dose tirzepatide pen, in application filed in 2023

A four-dose tirzepatide pen device is now approved, giving patients a different delivery format than the single-dose pen or vial, though availability and pricing have not been announced.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Zepbound

The FDA has approved a supplemental application from Eli Lilly for Zepbound KwikPen (tirzepatide) injection, a pen device that holds four doses of the drug for once-weekly administration. The application, NDA 217806/S-002, was dated and received on November 15, 2023, and the approval letter is signed January 20, 2026 [1].

The supplement adds six presentations of Zepbound KwikPen, "each containing 4 doses of a fixed volume" of tirzepatide formulation for once weekly administration, according to the letter [1]. The specific amount of drug in each dose is redacted in the letter, so the strengths of the six presentations are not stated there [1]. The letter lists November 8, 2023 as the previous approval date for the Instructions for Use for the single-dose pen, making the supplement filing about a week later [1].

The approval covers revisions to the Prescribing Information and Medication Guide, plus new carton and container labeling and Instructions for Use for the KwikPen, and FDA enclosed the agreed-upon labeling with the letter [1]. The submission was a Prior Approval supplement filed under section 505(b) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act [1].

The review did not move in a straight line. FDA issued an action letter on January 29, 2025, and Lilly later submitted an amendment dated December 2, 2025 that "constituted a complete response" to that letter, after which the supplement was approved [1]. The approval letter does not say what FDA asked for in January 2025 or what Lilly changed, and that has not been disclosed [1].

FDA also asked for one wording change on the carton and container labeling: revise "mg/dose" to "mg per dose" for clarity [1]. Final printed labeling is due as soon as it is available, but no more than 30 days after printing, and FDA said its approval of that labeling is not required before the labeling is used [1].

The supplement was exempt from the pediatric assessment normally required under the Pediatric Research Equity Act, FDA wrote, because none of the criteria that trigger it applied [1]. The letter also notes the product is regulated as a Part 3 combination product, which carries its own postmarketing safety reporting requirements [1].

Why it matters for patients

Zepbound is tirzepatide, and the labeling FDA references shows the drug is already handled through several formats: a single-dose pen, a single-dose vial and a multi-dose vial, each with its own Instructions for Use [1]. A KwikPen holding four doses means one device covers about a month of weekly treatment, compared with a single-dose pen that covers one dose.

Everything else patients usually want to know is not in the approval letter. It gives no price, no launch date and no statement about insurance coverage or pharmacy availability for the KwikPen, and those details have not been reported [1]. The letter also does not say whether the KwikPen replaces the single-dose pen or vial, or whether it is sold alongside them [1].

Because the approval includes a revised Medication Guide and Prescribing Information, patients filling a tirzepatide prescription may eventually see updated paperwork, but the letter does not say when label changes take effect at the pharmacy counter [1]. The specific strengths approved for the six presentations are also not disclosed in the letter, so it is not yet known which doses will be offered in the pen [1].

What happens next

Under the letter, Lilly must submit the content of labeling in structured product labeling format within 14 days of the January 20, 2026 approval, and must amend pending supplements that contain labeling changes in the same window [1]. Final printed carton and container labeling is due within 30 days of printing [1]. Patent information for listing in the Orange Book must be sent to FDA on Form FDA 3542 within 30 days of approval [1]. No date has been given for when KwikPens will reach US pharmacies [1].

Sources

  1. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/appletter/2026/217806Orig1s002ltr.pdf

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.