Regulation

FDA approves single-dose vial version of Zepbound in corrected letter

Zepbound now has an FDA-approved single-dose vial as well as a pen, though the letter does not disclose timing, price or how the vial is used.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Zepbound

The FDA has approved a single-dose vial version of Zepbound (tirzepatide), according to a corrected approval letter the agency issued for supplement NDA 217806/S-003 [1]. The effective action date is March 28, 2024, the date of the original letter [1].

The supplement is a prior approval supplemental new drug application that Eli Lilly and Company submitted on November 20, 2023 [1]. According to the letter, it provides for "the addition of a single-dose vial container closure system for tirzepatide drug product" and for expanding the quality control testing role of a site that tests the single-dose vial presentation [1]. The names of the manufacturing site and the testing site are redacted in the letter as posted [1].

The letter states that the application is approved "for use as recommended in the enclosed agreed-upon labeling" [1]. It describes the supplement as adding a container closure system and expanding a testing site's role, and it does not describe a new indication or a new patient population [1]. The enclosures include updated Prescribing Information, a Medication Guide, an Instructions for Use for the single-dose pen (a version previously approved November 8, 2023), an Instructions for Use for the single-dose vial, and carton and container labeling for the single-dose vial [1].

The corrected letter explains what went wrong in the first one. The original approval letter dated March 28, 2024 listed "Medication Guide (version previously approved November 8, 2023)" in its enclosures, and the agency says that Medication Guide is superseded by the Medication Guide dated March 2024, which covers both the single-dose pen and the single-dose vial [1]. The correction does not change the effective action date [1]. The corrected letter was signed electronically by John Sharretts, M.D., director of the Division of Diabetes, Lipid Disorders, and Obesity in the FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, on April 2, 2024 [1].

What the letter leaves open

The letter does not say when the single-dose vial will reach pharmacies, what it will cost, or how a patient draws up and injects a dose from it [1]. It also does not describe how the vial's Instructions for Use differ from the pen's [1]. Those details have not been disclosed in the approval letter. Questions about whether the two presentations are interchangeable, or how insurance will cover the vial compared with the pen, are not addressed [1].

Why it matters for patients

Zepbound is tirzepatide, and the approval means the same drug is now cleared in two container formats: a single-dose pen and a single-dose vial [1]. Because each format comes with its own Instructions for Use and its own carton and container labeling, patients who fill a Zepbound prescription may encounter different packaging and different handling steps depending on which version the pharmacy dispenses [1]. The approval also means the Medication Guide patients receive would be the March 2024 version covering both presentations, not the November 8, 2023 version that appeared in the original letter [1].

The letter is a regulatory document and does not offer clinical guidance on choosing between a pen and a vial, and it does not state whether the drug's approved uses changed [1]. Anyone with questions about their own Zepbound prescription has no information in the letter to rely on for that decision.

What happens next

Under the letter, Lilly has deadlines to file updated labeling. The company must submit content of labeling in structured product labeling format within 14 days of the letter, and must amend pending supplemental applications that include labeling changes within the same 14 days [1]. Final printed carton and container labeling is due no more than 30 days after it is printed [1], and patent information for listing in the Orange Book must be submitted on Form FDA 3542 within 30 days of the supplement's approval [1]. The letter also notes that Zepbound is a Part 3 combination product, which carries postmarketing safety reporting requirements [1]. No launch date or price has been reported [1].

Sources

  1. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/appletter/2024/217806Orig1s003Corrected_ltr.pdf

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.