Zepbound carton, Medication Guide and insert revisions approved
The FDA approved the first labeling update for Zepbound (tirzepatide) on March 28, 2024, revising the carton labels, Medication Guide, and package insert just months after the drug's launch.
The Food and Drug Administration approved a labeling supplement for Zepbound (tirzepatide) on March 28, 2024, according to the agency's Drugs@FDA database [1]. The update, filed as Supplement 3 (SUPPL-3) under New Drug Application 217806, is listed in the category "Labeling-Container/Carton Labels, Labeling-Medication Guide, Labeling-Package Insert" [1]. It is the first labeling change recorded for Zepbound since the drug's original approval.
Zepbound, made by Eli Lilly, was originally approved on November 8, 2023, under a priority review [1]. The drug covers a range of tirzepatide strengths, from 2.5 mg to 15 mg per 0.5 mL in single-dose formats and 10 mg to 60 mg per 2.4 mL in multi-dose pen formats, sold under names including the standard autoinjector and the Zepbound KwikPen [1]. The March 2024 supplement touched three separate labeling documents that patients and pharmacists interact with directly: the carton label seen on the outside of the packaging, the Medication Guide that comes with each prescription, and the package insert used by prescribers [1].
The FDA's public database lists the submission category but does not describe the specific wording or content changes made in this update [1]. It is not yet known from the available records exactly what text was revised, added, or removed in the carton, guide, and insert. The listing does not classify this update as adding new clinical trial data or a new approved use, which distinguishes it from later Zepbound label changes. For comparison, a later supplement filed October 18, 2024, was categorized as "Efficacy-Labeling Change With Clinical Data," and another filed December 20, 2024, added a new indication for the drug [1]. The March 2024 update appears to be a more routine documentation change rather than one tied to new trial results or a new approved use, though the source does not state this explicitly.
Why it matters for patients
Labeling documents are the main way patients learn how to use a prescription drug safely, including dosing steps, storage instructions, and warnings. When the FDA approves a change to the carton, Medication Guide, or package insert, pharmacies and manufacturers are expected to begin distributing the updated versions. Patients who received Zepbound before this approval and those who receive it afterward could, in principle, have slightly different printed materials in their box, though the source here does not specify what changed or when the updated materials reached pharmacy shelves.
Because the FDA record does not detail the substance of the change, patients cannot know from this filing alone whether the update affected dosing instructions, side effect warnings, storage guidance, or something else. Anyone with questions about the specific contents of their current Zepbound Medication Guide can compare it with the version on file, since the FDA posts the underlying documents by submission number [1].
What happens next
The FDA's history for this application shows additional labeling supplements followed in the months after March 2024, including changes on October 18, 2024, tied to new clinical data, and a new indication approval on December 20, 2024 [1]. More labeling updates were logged through 2025 and into 2026, according to the same database, reflecting the ongoing pattern of periodic label revisions that is common for newly approved drugs as manufacturers and the FDA continue to refine prescribing information [1].
Sources
Semaglutides.org is for information only and is not medical advice. Always talk to a licensed healthcare provider about your own care. Some links to telehealth services are affiliate links, labeled where they appear.