Regulation

FDA adds 1.7 mg adolescent maintenance dose and severe GI warning to Wegovy label

The change gives adolescents another labeled maintenance dose option, and the new safety subsection applies to Wegovy's full prescribing information for all patients.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Wegovy

The FDA approved a label update for Wegovy (semaglutide) injection on November 27, 2024, adding a 1.7 mg weekly maintenance dose for adolescents ages 12 to under 18 with obesity and a new Warnings and Precautions subsection on severe gastrointestinal adverse reactions [1].

The agency's approval letter says the supplement, submitted January 29, 2024, makes four sets of changes to the Wegovy prescribing information: the new 1.7 mg pediatric maintenance dose; the addition of subsection 5.6, Severe Gastrointestinal Adverse Reactions, in Section 5, Warnings and Precautions; editorial revisions to subsection 5.2 on acute pancreatitis; and edits throughout the label intended to modernize it and improve readability [1]. The Medication Guide was revised to reflect the corresponding changes [1].

The letter describes 1.7 mg weekly as "an additional maintenance dose to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in pediatric patients ages 12 to less than 18 years with obesity" [1]. The letter does not list the other maintenance doses already approved for this age group, and it does not include weight-loss results for the 1.7 mg dose. The specific text of the new severe gastrointestinal subsection is also not included in the letter. The letter says only that the subsection was added to align Wegovy's labeling with the labeling for other GLP-1 receptor agonists [1].

The supplement also fulfills a postmarketing requirement tied to the drug's July 21, 2023 approval letter. Novo Nordisk was required to conduct exposure and exposure-response analyses evaluating the efficacy and safety of semaglutide to support the 1.7 mg dose for chronic weight management in pediatric patients with obesity ages 12 to under 18, using data from the STEP 1 and STEP TEENS trials along with STEP 6 [1]. The FDA concluded that the requirement was fulfilled, and states that other postmarketing requirements listed in the June 4, 2021 and July 21, 2023 approval letters remain open [1]. The results of the analyses themselves are not reported in the letter.

Why it matters for patients

For adolescents with obesity and their families, the label now includes 1.7 mg weekly as a maintenance option in addition to whatever doses were previously listed for that age group [1]. The letter does not explain how a prescriber would choose between the 1.7 mg dose and other maintenance doses, or whether it is meant for patients who cannot tolerate a higher dose; that has not been reported.

The severe gastrointestinal subsection is a change to Wegovy's full prescribing information, not a pediatric-only addition, and the letter says it brings the label in line with other GLP-1 receptor agonists [1]. That means the warning appears in the same document that covers adults taking Wegovy, and patients may see it referenced in the Medication Guide, which was also updated [1]. The letter does not state which symptoms, event rates or outcomes the warning describes, so the practical scope of the new subsection is not yet known from this document. The letter does not describe a change to the drug's approved uses — it describes a new dose option within an existing pediatric use and a new safety subsection [1].

Because the labeling also states that Wegovy's postmarketing requirements from 2021 and 2023 remain open, additional study results on the drug are still expected [1].

What happens next

Under the approval letter, Novo Nordisk must submit the updated labeling in structured product labeling format within 14 days and amend pending supplements that contain labeling changes for this application [1]. Within 7 days, the company must file a statement of intent to comply with a rule requiring promotional materials to be revised to reflect the new safety information [1]. Within 30 days, it must submit required patent information on Form FDA 3542 for Orange Book listing [1]. A timeline for when the revised label will appear in public labeling repositories has not been disclosed.

Sources

  1. https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/appletter/2024/215256Orig1s015ltr.pdf

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.