Research

SYNERGY-OUTCOMES begins: a MASH phase 3 that skips the liver biopsy

Eli Lilly registered SYNERGY-Outcomes, a 4,500-person phase 3 trial of tirzepatide and retatrutide in advanced fatty liver disease that measures liver events instead of biopsy changes, with primary completion around 2030.

By the Semaglutides news desk·

Eli Lilly has begun a large late-stage trial in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease (MASLD) that takes an unusual path: it skips the liver-biopsy endpoint that other companies have used to win faster approvals and instead waits for hard clinical liver outcomes.

The study, registered as NCT07165028 and called SYNERGY-Outcomes, is a master protocol testing multiple agents in adults with MASLD [1]. According to the development being reported, it plans to enroll about 4,500 participants at high risk, randomizing them to tirzepatide, retatrutide, or placebo, with treatment and follow-up running roughly 224 weeks — about four and a third years — and primary completion estimated for 2030.

What a "master protocol" means here

A master protocol is a single trial framework that can test more than one drug at the same time, usually against a shared placebo group. The ClinicalTrials.gov registration describes SYNERGY-Outcomes as "A Master Protocol of Multiple Agents in Adults With Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatotic Liver Disease" [1]. In practice, that design lets a sponsor compare several candidates without running separate standalone studies and without duplicating the control arm.

The two drugs named in this development are familiar and unfamiliar in different ways. Tirzepatide is the molecule sold as Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound for obesity and obstructive sleep apnea. Retatrutide is an investigational Lilly molecule that has not been approved by the FDA for any use and has no brand name.

Why skipping biopsy is the notable part

Most late-stage MASH programs have been built around liver biopsy. Companies treat patients for about a year, take a second biopsy, and look for resolution of steatohepatitis or improvement in fibrosis. Regulators have accepted those biopsy findings as surrogate markers under the accelerated approval pathway — meaning a drug can reach the market before anyone has shown it prevents liver failure, transplant, or death. A recent review in Med frames the field as moving "from accelerated approval to cirrhosis trial innovation" [2].

SYNERGY-Outcomes, by contrast, is described as having no histologic endpoint for accelerated approval and going straight for liver outcomes. That is a higher bar and a slower one. It also means that if the trial succeeds, the evidence would speak directly to the things patients care about rather than to a microscope reading.

Several specifics are not available in the sources at hand. The registry text retrieved here consists mainly of ClinicalTrials.gov's standard definitions of terms such as "arm," "enrollment," and "primary completion" [1], so the exact doses being tested, the full eligibility criteria, the list of countries and study sites, and the precise definition of the primary outcome events are not yet known from these sources. The Med article's full text was likewise not available beyond its title and framing [2].

Why it matters for patients

For people already taking a GLP-1 or dual-agonist medication, this trial does not change anything about how those drugs are labeled today. Tirzepatide is not approved in the United States for MASH or MASLD, and retatrutide is not approved at all.

What the trial could change is the quality of the answer available a few years from now. Biopsy-based approvals tell you that liver tissue looked better after a year. An outcomes trial is designed to tell you whether fewer people progressed to serious liver events. Those are different claims, and insurers, hepatologists, and guideline writers tend to treat them differently when deciding who gets covered and for how long.

The trade-off is time. A roughly 224-week study with primary completion projected for 2030 means results are years away, while biopsy-based competitors may reach the market sooner. Patients with advanced fibrosis today will likely face treatment decisions long before SYNERGY-Outcomes reports.

For anyone considering enrollment, the trial's registration is public [1], and a 4,500-person target implies recruitment across many sites. Whether the study is currently open at a given location is not specified in the sources reviewed here.

What happens next

The trial was registered in October 2025 [1]. Primary completion is estimated for 2030, according to the development reported. Interim safety monitoring in trials of this size is typically handled by an independent data monitoring committee [1], though whether one is in place for this study is not stated in the available source text.

Sources

  1. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07165028
  2. https://www.cell.com/med/fulltext/S2666-6340(26)00175-3

Semaglutides.org is for information only and is not medical advice. Always talk to a licensed healthcare provider about your own care. Some links to telehealth services are affiliate links, labeled where they appear.