Culture

Review in Mayo Clinic Proceedings finds gut side effects in 40% to 70% of GLP-1 and GIP drug users

A Mayo Clinic Proceedings review says 40% to 70% of people on GLP-1 and GIP drugs get gut side effects, and lists food and fluid changes as the first step.

By the Semaglutides news desk·

A clinical review published in Mayo Clinic Proceedings reports that 40% to 70% of patients taking GLP-1 and GIP receptor agonists develop gastrointestinal adverse effects, and that the first response from primary care physicians should be dietary change rather than another medication [1].

The paper is titled "GLP1 and GIP Receptor Agonists: Effects on the Gastrointestinal Tract and Management Strategies for Primary Care Physicians" [1]. It is written for the primary care clinicians who handle routine care for these patients, rather than for specialists [1]. As a review, it gathers and summarizes existing evidence rather than reporting a new experiment [1].

The steps it puts first — smaller and more frequent meals, drinking enough fluid, and limiting high-fat or high-sugar foods — are food and drink adjustments, not prescriptions [1].

The 40% to 70% range covers the two drug classes together. The review does not split that figure by individual medicine, and it does not state how often these symptoms lead someone to stop treatment [1]. It also does not report whether the dietary approach has been tested in a trial and shown to reduce symptoms; the recommendation is presented as a management strategy for clinicians [1].

The paper does not describe dosing changes, and it does not lay out what clinicians should try when dietary adjustments alone fail to control symptoms [1].

Why it matters for patients

Read together, the figures say that stomach and digestive complaints are a typical part of treatment for a large share of people on these medicines, not an unusual reaction affecting a handful of users [1]. The review treats those complaints as manageable — something to address through what a person eats and drinks and how often — instead of as a sign the drug is not working [1].

The first-line advice involves choices patients make daily, and it is the kind of thing a person can raise at a routine appointment with a primary care physician [1]. Because the review reports one range for both drug classes, someone looking for a comparison between individual products will not find it here, and the paper has not disclosed which products have a milder or harsher gastrointestinal profile [1].

The review is also not a source of outcome data. It does not say how many patients improved after changing their diet, how quickly symptoms eased, or whether any patients needed a different approach [1].

What happens next

The paper is a review aimed at clinicians, not a study result or a regulatory decision [1]. No trial, label change, or Food and Drug Administration action tied to it has been reported [1]. The review does not set out a timeline or indicate when updated guidance might follow [1].

Sources

  1. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mayocp.2025.09.017

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.