Research and trials

Case series finds less frequent semaglutide and tirzepatide dosing held weight loss

A small case series suggests some patients who plateau on weekly GLP-1 treatment maintain their results on less frequent dosing, though the design cannot prove cause and effect.

By the Semaglutides news desk·

Obesity, the journal of The Obesity Society, has published a case series of 30 adults who reached a weight plateau on weekly semaglutide or tirzepatide and then moved to reduced-frequency dosing — usually every other week — at the dose they were already taking [1]. Over an average of 36.3 weeks on the reduced schedule, the group maintained its weight, body composition and metabolic syndrome improvements [1]. The report is the first clinical data behind spaced-out GLP-1 dosing, and it is not a randomized trial [1].

Semaglutide is sold as Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus; tirzepatide is sold as Mounjaro and Zepbound. The published abstract does not break the results down by drug, and it does not state the doses used [1].

What the numbers show

Average weight was 87.9 ± 2.4 kg before treatment, 74.1 ± 2.4 kg at the plateau on weekly dosing, and 72.4 ± 2.2 kg during reduced-frequency maintenance [1]. The authors report the change as statistically significant (p < 0.01) [1].

Body composition was measured by bioelectric impedance. Total body fat, percentage body fat and truncal fat fell, while skeletal muscle mass stabilized on the reduced-frequency regimen [1]. Not every participant had a measurement at every point: 23 people contributed body composition data before treatment, 24 at the plateau and 20 during maintenance [1].

Metabolic syndrome parameters improved during weekly dosing, and the authors report those gains were maintained on the reduced schedule [1]. Continuous measures were available for 25 to 29 patients depending on the measure, and included BMI, HbA1c, triglycerides, HDL cholesterol and blood pressure [1].

The authors write that the findings "support structured de-escalation as a promising strategy to reduce treatment burden without sacrificing efficacy" [1]. One author, M.B., is listed as a clinical trial site investigator for GLP-1 agents for Eli Lilly and Company and Novo Nordisk; the other authors declare no conflicts of interest [1].

The design limits what can be concluded. This was a retrospective case series with no comparison group, so it cannot show that less frequent dosing caused the results seen, and the paper plots individual patient weight trends alongside the group average [1]. How patients were selected, how many later returned to weekly dosing, and how many stopped treatment are not stated in the published abstract [1].

Why it matters for patients

Weekly injections are the regimen studied in the large trials that established these drugs for weight loss, and the case series describes weekly therapy as the standard starting schedule [1]. The report raises the possibility that some patients who have already plateaued can hold their results on fewer doses, which matters for people who find weekly shots inconvenient, costly, hard to tolerate or difficult to fit into travel and work schedules. The authors frame reduced-frequency dosing as a way to lower treatment burden [1].

Several practical questions are not answered. The study did not measure what patients paid, whether insurers would cover a less frequent schedule, or how side effects changed [1]. It does not address whether reduced-frequency dosing fits the FDA-approved labeling for these products [1]. The findings apply to a specific group — adults who had already lost weight and plateaued — and say nothing about people still losing weight or just starting treatment [1]. The report does not offer guidance for individual patients, and decisions about dose and schedule are made with a prescriber.

What happens next

JAMA covered the finding in April 2026 [2]; that journal item carries no abstract in its published record [2]. No randomized trial of reduced-frequency GLP-1 dosing is described in these records, and no regulatory action on dosing intervals has been disclosed [1][2].

Sources

  1. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41732031/
  2. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/41893626/

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.