Prices

BCBS Federal Employee Program approves a Zepbound policy requiring two failed oral weight-loss drugs

The Blue Cross Blue Shield Federal Employee Program's updated Zepbound policy, effective July 1, 2026, requires trying at least two oral weight-loss drugs, a weight-management program, and the preferred product first.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Zepbound

The Blue Cross Blue Shield Federal Employee Program (FEP) Pharmacy and Medical Policy Committee approved an updated prior-authorization policy for Zepbound (tirzepatide) on June 11, 2026, with an effective date of July 1, 2026 [1]. Under policy 5.99.031, federal employees and retirees who want coverage for chronic weight management must document that they tried and did not respond to, could not tolerate, or have a contraindication to at least two oral weight-management medications before the drug is approved [1].

What the policy requires

The policy applies to patients 18 and older using Zepbound for chronic weight management [1]. To meet the initial criteria, a patient must have a body mass index of 30 kg/m² or higher, or a BMI of 27 kg/m² or higher plus either established cardiovascular disease or at least one weight-related condition such as type 2 diabetes, dyslipidemia or hypertension [1].

On top of that, the policy lists five more requirements, all backed by documentation such as medical records or lab reports [1]:

  • Inadequate treatment response, intolerance, or contraindication to at least two oral weight-management medications. The policy names benzphetamine, diethylpropion, phentermine and Qsymia (phentermine/topiramate ER) as examples [1].
  • Participation in a comprehensive weight-management program, with Teladoc or "another weight loss program" given as examples [1].
  • No simultaneous use of another GLP-1 receptor agonist. The policy's appendix lists 13 products, including Ozempic, Wegovy and Rybelsus (semaglutide), Mounjaro (tirzepatide), Trulicity, Saxenda and Victoza [1].
  • No simultaneous use of another prior-authorization weight-loss drug, a list that includes Contrave, Xenical, Plenity, Imcivree and Qsymia [1].
  • A trial of the plan's preferred product(s), unless the patient has a valid medical exception such as inadequate response, intolerance or contraindication [1]. The policy document does not name the preferred product inside the text; it points to separate Caremark and fepblue formulary documents [1].

The policy also states that all approved requests are subject to review by a clinical specialist for final validation, and that current use, including samples, does not guarantee coverage [1].

Quantity limits and renewal

The approved quantity is 12 single-dose pens per 84 days — about four pens per 28 days — for both initial approval and renewal [1]. An initial approval lasts 6 months [1].

Renewal runs for 12 months and requires that the patient has lost at least 5 percent of baseline body weight, or has continued to maintain that initial 5 percent loss [1]. Renewal also requires continued participation in a comprehensive weight-management program, no overlapping GLP-1 or other prior-authorization weight-loss drug, and the same preferred-product requirement [1].

The policy's own history section describes the June 2026 action as an "annual review and reference update" [1]. A December 2025 entry notes that a documentation requirement was added and the trial/failure requirement was modified to "standard verbiage" [1]. The document does not spell out exactly which cycle first added the two-oral-drug step, so the timeline of that specific change is not clear from the policy text itself.

Why it matters for patients

FEP is the health plan used by federal employees, retirees and their families, so the criteria determine who gets tirzepatide paid for and who does not. The practical effect of the two-drug step-therapy rule is that a patient and prescriber generally have to build a paper trail through older, cheaper oral drugs — or document why those drugs are unsafe or unsuitable — before Zepbound is considered medically necessary [1].

The preferred-product requirement adds another layer: even a patient who has failed two oral drugs may need to try whatever the plan designates as preferred first, unless a medical exception is documented [1]. Because the preferred list lives in a separate formulary document, patients cannot tell from the policy alone what that product is [1].

The 5 percent renewal threshold also matters for people who respond slowly. Separately, the FDA-approved labeling cited in the policy directs prescribers to evaluate the change in BMI after 12 to 16 weeks and to stop the drug if there has not been an appropriate decrease [1]. The policy does not describe an appeals pathway beyond the medical-exception language, and it does not state what happens to patients already on Zepbound when their current approval expires [1].

What happens next

The policy took effect July 1, 2026 [1]. Based on the document's history section, FEP has reviewed this policy roughly annually, most recently in June 2026, December 2025 and December 2024 [1]. The next review date is not stated [1].

Sources

  1. https://info.caremark.com/content/dam/enterprise/caremark/microsites/dig/pdfs/pa-fep/fep-criteria/FEP_Criteria_Zepbound.pdf

Semaglutides.org is for information only and is not medical advice. Always talk to a licensed healthcare provider about your own care. Some links to telehealth services are affiliate links, labeled where they appear.