Coming Off Compounded Semaglutide: What to Do When Your Program Ends
The FDA resolved the semaglutide shortage on February 21, 2025, and the shortage-based window that let pharmacies compound copies closed by May 22, 2025. Here is what that means for your program ending and how to move to an FDA-approved drug.

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.
If your compounded semaglutide program is ending, it is almost certainly because the legal window that allowed pharmacies to compound it has closed. The FDA declared the semaglutide injection shortage resolved on February 21, 2025, and the last enforcement-discretion period for compounders ended on May 22, 2025 [1]. Since then, the FDA has announced it intends to restrict the GLP-1 active pharmaceutical ingredients used in unapproved compounded drugs that are mass-marketed as alternatives to approved medications, and on April 30, 2026, it proposed excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide, and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list after finding no clinical need for compounding them [2][4].
The practical path forward is the one the FDA states directly: get a prescription from your doctor and fill it at a state-licensed pharmacy [2][7]. Compounded drugs are not FDA approved, meaning their safety, effectiveness, and quality are not reviewed before they are marketed [2][3][7]. This page explains why the compounded market is closing, why your compounded milligram number does not map one-to-one to a brand dose, and what information your prescriber needs to make the switch. It is informational only, not medical advice, and decisions about doses and titration belong to your prescriber.
Why is compounded semaglutide going away?
The FDA declared the semaglutide injection shortage resolved on February 21, 2025. Semaglutide injection products had been in shortage since 2022 due to increased demand, and the FDA confirmed with the manufacturer that stated product availability and manufacturing capacity could meet present and projected national demand [1].
The shortage listing was the condition that let compounders work: in most cases, a 503B outsourcing facility may compound from a bulk drug substance only if that substance appears on the 503B bulks list, or if the drug is on the FDA’s shortage list at the time of compounding, distribution, and dispensing [1][3][4]. Once semaglutide came off the shortage list, that path closed.
To avoid unnecessary disruption to patient treatment, the FDA staggered the end of its enforcement discretion [1]:
| Compounder type | Enforcement discretion ended |
|---|---|
| 503A state-licensed pharmacies and physicians | April 22, 2025 (60 days) |
| 503B outsourcing facilities | May 22, 2025 (90 days) |
A court challenge did not change this. On April 24, 2025, the district court denied the plaintiffs’ preliminary injunction motion in Outsourcing Facilities Association v. FDA regarding compounded semaglutide, and the FDA confirmed the deadlines stood [1]. The tirzepatide timeline ran earlier: that shortage was declared resolved on December 19, 2024, and the last GLP-1 enforcement-discretion window closed on May 22, 2025 [1][5].
The pressure has kept building since. On February 6, 2026, the FDA announced it intends to restrict the GLP-1 active pharmaceutical ingredients used in unapproved compounded drugs that are mass-marketed as alternatives to approved medications [2]. FDA Commissioner Martin A. Makary stated that entities engaged in manufacturing, distributing, or marketing unapproved compounded GLP-1 products that fail to address violations may face legal action without further notice, including seizure and injunction [2]. On April 30, 2026, the FDA proposed excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide, and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list, finding no clinical need for outsourcing facilities to compound them from bulk substances; the comment docket on that proposal is open until June 29, 2026, and a final determination will follow review of the comments [4]. That proposal is not final, and as of the FDA’s April 2026 clarification, tirzepatide and semaglutide appear on neither the 503B bulks list nor the shortage list [1][3].
Is compounded semaglutide illegal now, or just restricted?
What ended is the broad permission that the shortage created. Compounded drugs are intended only for patients whose medical needs cannot be met by an FDA-approved drug, or when the approved drug is not commercially available [7]. Beyond those conditions, the FD&C Act restricts compounding products that are essentially copies of commercially available drug products, and absent an exemption a compounded drug may be considered misbranded, which could result in enforcement action including a warning letter, seizure, or injunction [3].
On April 1, 2026, the FDA issued its first express statement of what it considers to be compounding, regularly or in inordinate amounts, a drug product that is essentially a copy of a commercially available drug product [3]. A compounded product counts as essentially a copy when it has the same active pharmaceutical ingredient as the commercially available product in the same, similar, or easily substitutable strength, and the commercial product can be used by the same route of administration prescribed for the compounded product [1][3].
There is an exception: a prescriber can determine and document that the compounded product contains a change producing a significant difference for an identified individual patient [1][3]. But the FDA has not specified the type or amount of documentation a prescriber must create for that determination [3]. And for now, the FDA has stated it does not intend to take action against a 503A compounder for essentially-a-copy compounding if the compounder fills four or fewer prescriptions of that product per calendar month [1][3]. That policy clarification does not have the force and effect of law [3].
Congress may tighten this further. The SAFE Drugs Act of 2025 (HR 6509) would limit essentially-a-copy compounding under section 503A to no more than 20 times per month, absent a patient-specific change deemed significantly different by the prescriber; as of August 2026, the bill remains before the House Energy and Commerce Committee [5].
Why did my semaglutide plus B12 formula stop?
The B12 blend is the FDA’s own example of an essentially-a-copy product. The FDA stated that a compounded drug product combining semaglutide API with another API, such as vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin), may be considered essentially a copy when the products are used by the same route of administration, such as injection, and the amounts of semaglutide and vitamin B12 are within 10% of the strengths of the respective commercially available drug products [1][3].
In other words, adding B12 at a strength close to what is commercially available does not, in the FDA’s view, make the product meaningfully different from the approved drug. Unless a prescriber determines and documents a change that produces a significant difference for an identified individual patient, the blend falls within the essentially-a-copy restriction [1][3].
Does my compounded milligram dose equal the same brand milligram dose?
There is no verified conversion, and the reasons run deeper than labeling. Compounded drugs are not FDA approved, so their safety, effectiveness, and quality are not reviewed before marketing [2][3][7]. Some compounders sold salt forms — semaglutide sodium or semaglutide acetate — which the FDA treats as different active ingredients than the one used in the approved drugs. The FDA states it has no information on whether those salts share the chemical and pharmacologic properties of the approved active ingredient, and it is not aware of any lawful basis for their use in compounding [7].
The approved products come in defined strengths. The Wegovy label references injection strengths of 1.7 mg, 2.4 mg, and 7.2 mg, and semaglutide tablets at 25 mg [8]. Compounding pharmacies can make strengths smaller than what is commercially available, and “microdosing” GLP-1s is an off-label practice [6]. Counting clicks on adjustable pens to produce intermediate doses is unreliable, and manufacturers advise against it [6]. Multi-dose compounded GLP-1 vials have been associated with an increased risk of dosage errors [6][7].
This page does not provide any dose mapping, conversion, or titration schedule, because the available sources do not support one. What dose of an approved product is appropriate after compounded use is a decision for your prescriber, based on your history.
What dosing and quality problems have been documented with compounded vials?
The FDA has received multiple adverse event reports, some requiring hospitalization, that may be related to dosing errors with compounded injectable semaglutide — patients measuring and self-administering incorrect doses, and in some cases clinicians miscalculating doses [7][10]. The FDA has also received adverse event reports that may be related to compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide prescribed beyond what the FDA-approved labels allow: more product per dose, more frequent dosing, or faster titration. Symptoms in those reports included nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, and constipation [7].
America’s Poison Centers reports 22,966 GLP-1 agonist exposure cases from 2019 through 2025, with calls up nearly 1,500% over that period; most of those cases involved accidental therapeutic errors with FDA-approved drugs. Compounded products specifically have been associated with 10-fold dosing mistakes caused by confusion over syringe measurement units [5].
Storage and labeling are separate problems. Injectable GLP-1s require refrigeration, and the FDA recommends not using any injectable GLP-1 that arrived warm or with inadequate ice packs, since that can affect quality [2][7]. The FDA has also found fraudulent compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide with false label information — nonexistent pharmacy names, or the names of licensed pharmacies that did not actually make the product [2][7].
How many adverse event reports exist for compounded GLP-1s?
As of May 31, 2026, the FDA had received 990 adverse event reports associated with compounded semaglutide and more than 730 associated with compounded tirzepatide [5][7].
Two caveats matter. First, the FDA states it is not always possible to determine whether an adverse event directly resulted from the drug or whether other factors contributed — the reports do not establish causation [5][7]. Second, the totals are likely undercounts, because federal law does not require state-licensed pharmacies that are not outsourcing facilities to submit adverse events to the FDA [5][7]. Many of the reported events resemble those seen with the FDA-approved versions of these drugs [7].
What do I actually do to move to an FDA-approved version?
The FDA’s stated recommendation is simple: obtain a prescription from your doctor and fill it at a state-licensed pharmacy [2][7]. If you have questions about buying prescription medicines online, the FDA’s BeSafeRx campaign is its resource for doing that safely [2][7].
If you still have a compounded product and questions about its label or instructions for use, the FDA says to contact the compounder who made it or the telehealth platform where you purchased it [7]. Keep in mind that a compounded prescription under section 503A is written for an identified individual patient and is specific to that patient and formulation [1][3].
Timing, dose, and schedule for the change are decisions that belong to your prescriber.
What should I tell my prescriber about my compounded product?
Several details on your compounded label and in your order history matter to the person writing your next prescription:
- The active ingredient as labeled. If the product said semaglutide sodium or semaglutide acetate, that is a salt form the FDA treats as a different active ingredient from the approved drug, with no established equivalence [7].
- Any added ingredient and its strength. If the product contained cyanocobalamin (B12), the prescriber needs to know, since that combination is the FDA’s example of an essentially-a-copy product when strengths are within 10% of commercial products [1][3].
- The volume drawn per injection. Compounded products have been associated with 10-fold dosing mistakes caused by confusion over syringe measurement units, so the actual amount drawn per dose matters [5][7][10].
- Whether doses or titration exceeded approved labeling. The FDA has received adverse event reports that may be related to doses beyond what the approved labels allow [7].
- Whether the pharmacy on the label is verifiable. Fraudulent labeling with nonexistent or misattributed pharmacy names has been documented [7].
Bring the physical label and any instructions you received to the appointment rather than relying on memory.
How long can I keep using an opened compounded vial?
The FDA recommends discarding a multi-dose sterile vial within 28 days after first use, even if medication remains, and even if the compounder’s instructions say it can be used longer than 28 days [7]. The agency also recommends using a new, sterile needle and syringe for every dose, since reusing them can contaminate the medication [7].
What telehealth red flags should I watch while switching?
The FDA lists specific warning signs for companies selling compounded GLP-1s [7]:
- Claims that the compounded drug is the same as an FDA-approved drug
- Deep discounts or prices that seem too good to be true
- No screening or prescription by a licensed doctor before providing medicine, or no licensed doctor available to answer questions after delivery
- Medicine that looks different from prior fills, arrives in damaged packaging, lacks instructions for use, or has label spelling errors or a wrong pharmacy address
The FDA has also stated that direct-to-consumer marketing cannot claim compounded GLP-1s are generic versions or equivalents of approved drugs, that they use the same active ingredient, or that they produce the same clinical results [2]. The agency sent more than 55 warning letters to online sellers in a single day in September 2025, announced 30 more in March 2026, and issued 25 more in June 2026, citing misbranding under FDCA sections 502(a) and 502(n) [5]. In February 2026, a warning letter to MEDVi alleged that branding compounded products under the company’s own name obscured the products’ source and implied equivalence to approved drugs [5].
Are “research use only” peptides an alternative?
No. Retatrutide and cagrilintide cannot be used in compounding under federal law; they are not components of FDA-approved drugs and have not been found safe and effective for any condition [7]. The FDA has warned telehealth companies for marketing retatrutide, API distributors for selling retatrutide and other GLP-1 drugs to compounders, and outsourcing facilities for repackaging retatrutide [7].
Counterfeit Ozempic has also been found in the U.S. supply chain, and counterfeit drugs may contain the wrong ingredients, or too little, too much, or no active ingredient at all [7]. At the border, the FDA’s import alert 66-80 (a green list) targets GLP-1 APIs with potential quality concerns [7].
How many people are in the same situation?
Novo Nordisk estimated in January 2026 that as many as 1.5 million Americans were still using compounded GLP-1s [5]. A study published in JAMA Health Forum in the summer of 2026 described the post-shortage compounded market as robust, identifying 75 clinics and medical spas offering compounded GLP-1s in Oklahoma and West Virginia alone [5].
Novo Nordisk reports it has filed 132 suits across 40 states over compounded semaglutide, winning 44 permanent injunctions [5]. Consumer complaints about telehealth GLP-1 sellers include poorly disclosed charges, recurring subscriptions, and obstructed cancellations [5] — worth checking before you cancel your own account.
What about cost and coverage for the brand-name versions?
Cost and limited insurance coverage were primary drivers toward compounded versions in the first place [2][6]. This page does not quote brand-name prices, subscription tiers, or savings-program terms, because they change and must be verified at the source. For current self-pay prices and savings-program terms, check the manufacturers’ own patient channels directly — NovoCare for Wegovy and LillyDirect for Zepbound — and ask your pharmacy and insurer what your plan covers.
This page is informational only and is not medical advice. Every decision about which product to take, at what dose, and on what schedule belongs to your prescriber.
Sources
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize.
- AJMC. FDA to Restrict Ingredients Used in Mass-Marketed Compounded GLP-1s, Crack Down on Misleading Ads. February 9, 2026.
- Foley & Lardner. FDA Clarifies Policies for Pharmacy Compounders of GLP-1 Products. April 14, 2026.
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA Proposes to Exclude Semaglutide, Tirzepatide, and Liraglutide on 503B Bulks List.
- Drug Discovery and Development. FDA logs more than 1,700 adverse event reports involving compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide.
- GoodRx. Microdosing GLP-1s: Does It Work? Risks and Benefits.
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss.
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy prescribing information.
- Eli Lilly. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information.
- US Food and Drug Administration. FDA alerts health care providers, compounders and patients of dosing errors associated with compounded injectable semaglutide products.
- GoodRx. Switching from a Compounded GLP-1: A Step-by-Step Guide.
- PubMed. Severe Gastrointestinal Intolerance After Resuming Maintenance-Dose Semaglutide Following Ramadan-Related Treatment Interruption: A Case Report.
- Beth Israel Lahey Health. GLP-1RA and Dual GLP-1RA/GIP: Conversions and Therapy Gap Management Guide. Updated August 2024.
- Novo Nordisk. Wegovy price guide.
- PR Newswire. Novo Nordisk launches first and only multi-month subscription program for FDA-approved Wegovy, offering savings of up to $1,200/year.
- Eli Lilly and Company. Lilly lowers the price of Zepbound (tirzepatide) single-dose vials. December 1, 2025.
- NovoCare. Wegovy (semaglutide) cost, coverage, and savings resources.
- Eli Lilly. Zepbound (tirzepatide): Full Terms and Conditions.
Frequently asked questions
Is compounded semaglutide illegal now, or just restricted?
What ended is the broad permission the shortage created. Compounding is intended only when a patient's needs cannot be met by an FDA-approved drug or the approved drug is not commercially available. The FDA's April 2026 clarification says a product with the same active ingredient in a similar strength, given by a route the commercial product can also use, is essentially a copy — though that clarification does not have the force of law.
Can my compounding pharmacy still make a custom strength if my doctor writes a note?
Only if the prescriber determines and documents a change that produces a significant difference for you as an identified individual patient. The FDA has not specified what documentation is required. Separately, it currently does not intend to act against a 503A compounder filling four or fewer prescriptions of that product per calendar month.
When does FDA consider semaglutide plus B12 a copy of a commercially available drug?
The FDA's example states that combining semaglutide API with vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin) may be considered essentially a copy when both are given by the same route, such as injection, and the amounts of each are within 10% of the respective commercial strengths. Adding B12 at a similar strength does not create a significant difference in the agency's view.
Does my compounded milligram dose equal the same brand milligram dose?
There is no verified conversion. Compounded drugs are not FDA reviewed for safety, effectiveness, or quality, and some salt forms are different active ingredients entirely. Any dose decision after switching belongs to your prescriber; no source supports a dose mapping.
What if my vial said semaglutide sodium or semaglutide acetate?
Those salt forms are different active ingredients than the one in the approved drugs. The FDA has no information on whether they share its chemical and pharmacologic properties, and is not aware of any lawful basis for their use in compounding. Tell your prescriber exactly what the label said.
How long can I keep using an opened compounded vial?
The FDA recommends discarding a multi-dose sterile vial within 28 days after first use, even if medication remains, and even if the compounder's instructions say it lasts longer. Use a new, sterile needle and syringe for every dose.
What should I do if my shipment arrived warm?
Do not use it. Injectable GLP-1s require refrigeration, and the FDA recommends not using any injectable GLP-1 that arrived warm or with insufficient refrigeration, because it can affect the drug's quality.
How do I tell if my compounded product came from a real pharmacy?
Fraudulent labels have carried nonexistent pharmacy names, or names of licensed pharmacies that did not make the product. The FDA's BeSafeRx campaign is its resource for safely buying prescription medicines online, and the agency says to contact the compounder or telehealth platform that sold the product with any label questions.
This article summarizes FDA labeling, published research and company information current as of September 14, 2026. It is not medical advice and does not replace a conversation with your own healthcare provider. How we research and verify.