Zepbound Vial: How to Draw Up Your Dose in mL or Units
For a single-dose Zepbound vial, draw the syringe to the 0.5 mL line. A multi-dose vial delivers four 0.6 mL doses. Doses are measured in mL, not units, and needles and syringes are sold separately.

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.
For a single-dose Zepbound vial, draw the syringe to the 0.5 mL line — the volume the Instructions for Use (IFU) gives for one injection [2]. If you have a multi-dose vial, each injection is 0.6 mL, and one vial holds four doses [1]. Zepbound vial dosing is written in mL on the syringe — not in milligrams and not in “units” — and the IFU tells you to read the plunger tip against the mL lines [2]. The needle and syringe are not included with the vial; they are supplied separately [2][3].
The IFU directs you to inject exactly as your healthcare provider has shown you, and to read the IFU before you start and each time you get a new vial, because the information can change [2]. The step-by-step sequence below comes from the IFU for the single-dose vial, which is the presentation the LillyDirect vial page lists [2][3]. Zepbound is injected under the skin (subcutaneously) once a week [1][2].
Which Zepbound vial do I have, and how much does it hold?
Zepbound comes in two vial presentations, and the volume you draw depends on which one is in your hand [1].
Single-dose vials come in six strengths, and each one is used for one 0.5 mL injection [1][2]:
| Single-dose vial strength | Volume per injection | Doses per vial |
|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
| 5 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
| 7.5 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
| 10 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
| 12.5 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
| 15 mg/0.5 mL | 0.5 mL | 1 |
Multi-dose vials also come in six strengths. Each holds 2.4 mL total and delivers four 0.6 mL doses [1]:
| Multi-dose vial strength | Concentration | Doses per vial |
|---|---|---|
| 10 mg/2.4 mL | 4.17 mg/mL | four 2.5 mg/0.6 mL doses |
| 20 mg/2.4 mL | 8.33 mg/mL | four 5 mg/0.6 mL doses |
| 30 mg/2.4 mL | 12.5 mg/mL | four 7.5 mg/0.6 mL doses |
| 40 mg/2.4 mL | 16.7 mg/mL | four 10 mg/0.6 mL doses |
| 50 mg/2.4 mL | 20.8 mg/mL | four 12.5 mg/0.6 mL doses |
| 60 mg/2.4 mL | 25 mg/mL | four 15 mg/0.6 mL doses |
The same six strengths also exist as a single-dose pen and as a single-patient-use KwikPen, which is a multi-dose pen rather than a vial [1]. On the LillyDirect product page, the vial section lists single-dose vials; the multi-dose presentations shown there are KwikPens [3].
Why does the strength show three different numbers?
The prescribing information expresses each multi-dose vial strength three ways: the total drug in the vial (for example, 20 mg/2.4 mL), the concentration in parentheses (8.33 mg/mL), and the amount per dose (four 5 mg/0.6 mL doses) [1].
The FDA recommends that for small-volume injectable products, the product strength should be expressed as quantity per total volume and should be the primary and prominent expression on the principal display panel of the label, followed by quantity per milliliter enclosed by parentheses [5]. The FDA page carrying that recommendation was updated May 21, 2024, and it notes that the underlying final guidance was issued in May 2022, “Safety Considerations for Container Labels and Carton Labeling Design to Minimize Medication Errors” [5]. The page also states that its own terminology differs from what appears in the final guidance [5]. The United States Pharmacopeia’s General Chapter <7> on labeling is consistent with this convention [5].
The FDA documented why the order of those numbers matters. In one report, a patient prescribed 50 mcg of fentanyl received 2,500 mcg — 50 times the prescribed dose — after a label showing 50 mcg/mL in large font was misread as the total amount in the bag [5]. In another, a patient prescribed 5 to 10 mg of ketamine received 50 mg — 5 to 10 times the ordered dose — after a highlighted 10 mg/mL strength was mistaken for the total in the syringe [5]. Zepbound’s multi-dose vial strength is expressed the same way the convention calls for: total mg per 2.4 mL first, with mg/mL in parentheses, plus the per-dose amount of mg per 0.6 mL [1].
Do Zepbound vials come with needles and syringes?
No. The needle and syringe are not included with the vial and are supplied separately [2]. The IFU’s supply list gives one example — a 1 mL syringe and needle as recommended by your healthcare provider — and notes that the needle and syringe pictured in the IFU may look different from the one your provider recommends [2]. Some recommended syringes have a pre-attached needle, in which case you skip the step of attaching one [2].
Every LillyDirect single-dose vial listing states “Needle and syringe purchase required,” so the supplies are an extra cost on top of the medicine price [3]. Use a new syringe and needle for every injection, and do not reuse or share them — sharing can give or spread a serious infection [2].
How many units is 0.5 mL or 0.6 mL on an insulin syringe?
Zepbound has no “unit” strength. The label expresses the medicine only in mg and mL, and the IFU steps are written in mL [1][2]. If you happen to use a U-100 insulin syringe, the scale is built so 100 units equals 1 mL, which makes 1 unit equal 0.01 mL. By that arithmetic alone, 0.5 mL lines up with the 50-unit mark and 0.6 mL with the 60-unit mark. That is a conversion, not label guidance — the IFU tells you to draw to the 0.5 mL line and read the plunger tip against the mL markings [2].
The IFU’s example syringe is a 1 mL syringe, and the IFU defers to your healthcare provider on what to use [2]. If the syringe your provider recommended is marked in units rather than mL, ask your provider or pharmacist to confirm the marking that matches your prescribed volume before you inject.
What supplies and checks come before drawing up a dose?
The IFU lists the supplies you need for one injection [2]:
- 1 single-dose Zepbound vial
- 1 syringe and 1 needle, supplied separately
- 1 alcohol swab
- gauze
- 1 sharps container for used needles and syringes
Before you start, remove the vial from the refrigerator and check the label for the right medicine, the right dose, and an expiration date that has not passed [2]. Look at the medicine itself: it must not be frozen, must be colorless to slightly yellow, must not be cloudy, and must not have particles in it [2]. Wash your hands with soap and water [2].
What are the steps to draw up Zepbound from a vial?
These steps come from the IFU for the single-dose vial, which uses 0.5 mL [2]. A multi-dose vial uses 0.6 mL per dose instead [1].
- Pull off the plastic protective cap. Do not remove the rubber stopper [2].
- Wipe the rubber stopper with an alcohol swab [2].
- Remove the outer wrapping from the syringe [2].
- Remove the outer wrapping from the needle. If your syringe has a pre-attached needle, skip to step 6 [2].
- Place the needle on top of the syringe and turn it until it is tight and firmly attached [2].
- Remove the needle shield by pulling it straight off [2].
- Hold the syringe with the needle pointing up and pull the plunger down until the plunger tip reaches the line showing 0.5 mL of air in the syringe [2].
- Push the needle through the rubber stopper of the vial [2].
- Push the plunger all the way in. This puts air into the vial and makes it easier to pull the solution out [2].
- Turn the vial and syringe upside down. Keep the needle tip in the liquid and slowly pull the plunger down until the plunger tip is past the 0.5 mL line. If there are air bubbles, tap the syringe gently a few times so the bubbles rise to the top [2].
- Slowly push the plunger up until the plunger tip reaches the 0.5 mL line [2].
- Pull the syringe out of the rubber stopper [2].
If small air bubbles appear, the IFU’s method is to draw past the 0.5 mL line, tap the syringe gently so the bubbles rise, then slowly push the plunger back until the plunger tip reaches the 0.5 mL line [2].
Where do I inject, and how long does the needle stay in?
Zepbound is injected under the skin (subcutaneously) only [2]. You can inject into your stomach area (abdomen) or thigh, and another person can inject into the back of your upper arm [2]. Your healthcare provider should tell you whether to pinch the skin before injecting, and the IFU says to inject exactly as your provider has shown you [2].
Change (rotate) your injection site within the area you choose for each dose. This lowers the risk of lipodystrophy (pits or thickened skin) and localized cutaneous amyloidosis (skin with lumps) at the injection sites [2]. Do not inject where the skin has pits, is thickened, or has lumps, and do not inject where the skin is tender, bruised, scaly, or hard, or into scars or damaged skin [2]. Do not mix Zepbound with any other medicine, and do not inject it at the same site used for other medicines [2].
After inserting the needle, push the plunger to inject the dose and keep the needle in the skin for at least 5 seconds to make sure the full dose is delivered [2]. Then pull the needle out. If you see blood, press the site with a piece of gauze and do not rub the area [2]. Do not recap the needle — recapping can lead to a needle stick injury [2].
How should I store the vial, and how long does it last?
Store all unopened vials in the refrigerator at 36°F to 46°F (2°C to 8°C) [2]. An unopened vial may be kept at room temperature up to 86°F (30°C) for a total of 21 days; discard the vial after a total of 21 days at room temperature [2]. Do not freeze Zepbound, and do not use it if it has been frozen [2]. Keep the vial in its original carton to protect it from light [2].
Throw away all opened single-dose vials after use, even if medicine is left in the vial [2]. Keep Zepbound vials, syringes, needles, and all medicines out of the reach of children [2].
How do I throw away used needles, syringes, and the vial?
Put the used needle and syringe in an FDA-cleared sharps disposal container right away after use, and never throw loose needles or syringes in the household trash [2]. The FDA recommends a two-step process: contain sharps immediately after use, then dispose of the container according to your community’s guidelines [6].
If you do not have an FDA-cleared container, the IFU allows a household container that is made of heavy-duty plastic, can be closed with a tight-fitting puncture-resistant lid that keeps sharps from coming out, stays upright and stable during use, is leak-resistant, and is properly labeled to warn of hazardous waste inside [2].
The FDA says to get rid of the container when it is about three-quarters (3/4) full and never to reuse sharps containers [6]. Disposal options vary by community and include drop-box or supervised collection sites (such as doctors’ offices, hospitals, pharmacies, and health departments), household hazardous waste collection sites, mail-back programs, and residential special waste pick-up services [6]. For state-specific information, call Safe Needle Disposal at 1-800-643-1643 or e-mail info@safeneedledisposal.org [6]. Do not put a used sharps container in household trash unless your community guidelines permit it, and do not recycle it [2][6]. More information is at fda.gov/safesharpsdisposal [2].
How do I order Zepbound vials from LillyDirect, and what do supplies cost?
A Lilly medical page states that Zepbound vials and multi-dose KwikPens are available in all strengths exclusively through LillyDirect’s self-pay pharmacy channel, and that they require a valid, on-label, electronic prescription from the healthcare provider of your choice [4]. The LillyDirect product page, however, lists the KwikPen as “Select insurance accepted | Self-pay accepted,” so the two Lilly pages do not line up on how KwikPens are sold [3]. The single-dose pen can be ordered through LillyDirect’s insurance pharmacy component [4].
On the LillyDirect product page, the single-dose vial section is self-pay only, with free delivery, pickup available, and HSA/FSA eligibility that may vary by plan [3]. LillyDirect lists these self-pay vial prices, with terms and conditions applying to each [3]:
| Single-dose vial strength | Listed self-pay price | Regular price if not refilled within 45 days |
|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg/0.5 mL | from $299/month | not stated separately |
| 5 mg/0.5 mL | from $399/month | not stated separately |
| 7.5 mg/0.5 mL | from $449/month | $499 |
| 10 mg/0.5 mL | from $449/month | $699 |
| 12.5 mg/0.5 mL | from $449/month | $699 |
| 15 mg/0.5 mL | from $449/month | $699 |
The 45-day refill condition applies to the 7.5 mg, 10 mg, 12.5 mg, and 15 mg strengths; LillyDirect does not attach it to the 2.5 mg and 5 mg prices [3]. A “month” is defined as 28 days and 4 single-dose vials [3]. The 2.5 mg strength is a starting dose and is not approved as a maintenance dose [3]. The program is not insurance; eligibility is required, savings are subject to monthly and annual limits, and card eligibility and terms can be terminated, rescinded, revoked, or amended by Lilly at any time without notice [3]. Needles and syringes are an additional purchase on top of these prices [3].
What safety information comes with Zepbound?
Zepbound’s prescribing information carries a boxed warning: in rats, tirzepatide causes dose-dependent and treatment-duration-dependent thyroid C-cell tumors at clinically relevant exposures, and it is unknown whether Zepbound causes thyroid C-cell tumors, including medullary thyroid carcinoma (MTC), in humans [1]. Because of this, Zepbound is contraindicated in people with a personal or family history of MTC or with Multiple Endocrine Neoplasia syndrome type 2 (MEN 2), and it is also contraindicated in anyone with known serious hypersensitivity to tirzepatide or any of its excipients [1].
The label’s recommended dosage schedule starts at 2.5 mg injected subcutaneously once weekly for 4 weeks, then increases in 2.5 mg increments after at least 4 weeks until the maintenance dosage is achieved, with a maximum of 15 mg once weekly — your prescriber determines your actual dose and any changes [1]. The most common adverse reactions reported in at least 5% of patients are nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, dyspepsia, injection site reactions, fatigue, hypersensitivity reactions, eructation, hair loss, and gastroesophageal reflux disease [1].
For product questions, contact Lilly at 1-800-LillyRx (1-800-545-5979) [1][2]. The vial Instructions for Use was revised in April 2026, and the prescribing information was revised in August 2026 [1][2].
Sources
- Eli Lilly and Company. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection, for subcutaneous use. Prescribing information. Initial U.S. approval: 2022.
- Eli Lilly and Company. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection, for subcutaneous use. Instructions for use, single-dose vials.
- Eli Lilly and Company. Authentic Zepbound (tirzepatide) shipped to you. LillyDirect.
- Eli Lilly and Company. How do I get Zepbound (tirzepatide) vials or multidose KwikPens? Lilly Medical.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Differences in strength expression on product labels of compounders and conventional manufacturers may lead to dosing errors.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Best way to get rid of used needles and other sharps.
Frequently asked questions
How many units on an insulin syringe equals my Zepbound vial dose?
Zepbound is not measured in units — the label uses mg and mL only, and the Instructions for Use is written in mL. On a U-100 insulin syringe, the scale works out to 100 units per 1 mL, so 0.5 mL lines up with the 50-unit mark and 0.6 mL with the 60-unit mark. That is arithmetic, not label guidance; the IFU tells you to draw to the 0.5 mL line.
Can I use a 0.3 mL or 0.5 mL insulin syringe for Zepbound?
The IFU's example is a 1 mL syringe and needle as recommended by your healthcare provider, and it notes the pictured supplies may look different from what your provider recommends. Which syringe and needle to use is a decision for your prescriber or pharmacist, so ask before drawing a dose.
Why do I push air into the vial before drawing the dose?
The IFU has you pull 0.5 mL of air into the syringe first, insert the needle through the rubber stopper, and push the plunger all the way in. The IFU explains that this puts air into the vial and makes it easier to pull the solution out. You then invert the vial and syringe and draw the liquid.
What do I do if there are air bubbles in the syringe?
The IFU covers this in the drawing step: after turning the vial and syringe upside down, pull the plunger until the tip is past the 0.5 mL line, and if there are air bubbles, tap the syringe gently a few times to let the bubbles rise to the top. Then slowly push the plunger up until the tip reaches the 0.5 mL line.
Can I save leftover medicine in a single-dose vial?
No. The IFU says to throw away all opened vials after use, even if there is medicine left in the vial. A single-dose vial is used for one 0.5 mL injection only. Do not reuse or share syringes or needles with other people, because that can transmit serious infection.
Why is a multi-dose vial dose 0.6 mL when a single-dose vial is 0.5 mL?
That is how the prescribing information states the two presentations. A single-dose vial provides one injection of 0.5 mL at strengths from 2.5 mg to 15 mg. A multi-dose vial contains 2.4 mL total and delivers four 0.6 mL doses — for example, 20 mg/2.4 mL (8.33 mg/mL) provides four 5 mg/0.6 mL doses.
Do needles and syringes come with Zepbound vials?
No. The needle and syringe are not included and are supplied separately. Every LillyDirect single-dose vial listing states "Needle and syringe purchase required," so the supplies are an extra cost on top of the medicine price. Use a new syringe and needle for every injection.
What needle gauge and length should I use for Zepbound?
The Instructions for Use does not specify a needle gauge, length, or brand. It gives only one example — a 1 mL syringe and needle as recommended by your healthcare provider — and notes the pictured supplies may look different from what your provider recommends. Ask your prescriber or pharmacist which needle to buy.
This article summarizes FDA labeling, published research and company information current as of September 14, 2026. It is not medical advice and does not replace a conversation with your own healthcare provider. How we research and verify.