Novo Nordisk reports 2019 sales of DKK 122 billion and a 47.5% share of the global GLP-1 market
One company's filing shows it held nearly half the global GLP-1 market by value in 2019, the year an oral form of semaglutide was approved.
Novo Nordisk reported 2019 sales of DKK 122.0 billion, a 9% increase measured in Danish kroner, and operating profit of DKK 52.5 billion, according to its annual report filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission [1]. The filing also states the company held a 47.5% value share of the global GLP-1 market [1].
The report covers the fiscal year that ended December 31, 2019 [1]. Novo Nordisk files with U.S. regulators as a foreign private issuer on Form 20-F, the annual report form used by non-U.S. companies whose shares trade in the United States [1]. The financial statements in the filing were prepared under International Financial Reporting Standards as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board [1].
The 47.5% figure is a share of the global GLP-1 market measured by value — that is, by the money spent on those medicines — rather than by number of prescriptions or number of patients [1]. The report does not break out in the figures cited here how much of that spending came from the United States, nor how much of the DKK 122.0 billion in total company sales came from GLP-1 drugs, as opposed to Novo Nordisk's other products, which include insulin [1].
The same year included approval of oral semaglutide, the tablet form of the drug the company markets as Rybelsus [1]. Before that, semaglutide was available only as an injection. The filing does not say how many U.S. patients started the oral form in 2019, and it does not disclose U.S. list prices or insurance coverage for it.
At the close of the period covered by the report, Novo Nordisk had 537,436,000 A shares and 1,862,564,000 B shares outstanding, each with a nominal value of DKK 0.20 [1]. The company's B shares and American Depositary Receipts, each representing one B share, are registered on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol NVO; the B shares themselves are not traded there, only in connection with the ADR registration [1].
Why it matters for patients
GLP-1 drugs are the class that includes semaglutide, and the filing shows that at the end of 2019, a single company accounted for nearly half the value of global sales in that class [1]. That level of concentration matters to patients because it shapes what is available, how it is priced and how quickly supply can respond when demand changes.
The financial figures reported here describe a full year of company-wide performance, not just the GLP-1 business, and they are several years old. They do not reflect the much larger GLP-1 market that developed later, and the filing does not contain information about current U.S. prices, insurance coverage or supply shortages. Those details have not been reported in this filing.
The oral option is one concrete difference for patients. A pill avoids an injection, but the report does not state how the oral form was priced against the injectable, whether insurers covered it in 2019, or how it compared in effectiveness for any individual. Those specifics are not disclosed in the filing [1].
What happens next
Novo Nordisk files an annual report with the SEC each year, so a later filing would cover fiscal 2020 [1]. The 2019 report does not set out dates for future product approvals, launches or price changes, so no upcoming milestones for patients can be drawn from it [1].
Sources
Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.