FDA approves Mounjaro and Zepbound KwikPens a year after action letters
The approvals give tirzepatide users a four-dose pen option, but the letters do not say when it will reach pharmacies or how insurers will cover it.
The FDA approved KwikPen versions of Mounjaro and Zepbound on January 20, 2026, ending a review that had stalled for roughly a year after the agency sent action letters on both tirzepatide applications in January 2025 [1][2].
Both approvals are supplements to already-approved applications: Zepbound KwikPen (NDA 217806/S-002) and Mounjaro KwikPen (NDA 215866/S-009). Lilly submitted the Zepbound supplement on November 15, 2023, and the Mounjaro supplement on September 28, 2023 [1][2].
The FDA sent action letters on both applications on January 29, 2025. Amendments dated December 2, 2025, served as complete responses to those letters, according to the approval documents. That is about ten months between the action letters and the complete responses, and about twelve months between the action letters and approval. The letters do not describe what prompted the January 2025 action letters [1][2].
Each approval adds six presentations of the KwikPen, and each presentation contains 4 doses of a fixed volume of tirzepatide for once-weekly administration [1][2]. The dose strengths in those six presentations are not disclosed; that portion of each letter is redacted.
The letters also direct Lilly to make a minor labeling change, revising "mg/dose" to "mg per dose." The approved labeling packages list an Instructions for Use for the KwikPen alongside existing instructions for single-dose pens, single-dose vials, and multi-dose vials [1][2].
Why it matters for patients
A KwikPen holds four weekly doses in a single device rather than one. For people already injecting tirzepatide weekly, that can change how often they handle, store, and dispose of devices, and how often a prescription has to be refilled. It does not change how often the drug is injected: both letters describe once-weekly administration [1][2].
The approvals do not settle practical questions. Neither letter states a price, says when KwikPens will reach pharmacies, or explains how insurers will cover them, and none of that has been disclosed. It also is not stated whether the new pens will replace the single-dose pens and vials already approved for these brands, or be sold alongside them [1][2].
The KwikPen is a different device from the single-dose pen and the vials, and the approval includes a KwikPen-specific Instructions for Use rather than relying on the older documents [1][2].
What happens next
Under the terms of the letters, Lilly must submit updated labeling in structured product labeling format within 14 days of the approval date, and final printed carton and container labeling no more than 30 days after that labeling is printed. Patent information for the supplements is due on Form FDA 3542 within 30 days [1][2]. Those are administrative steps and do not set a launch date. No timeline for KwikPen availability in US pharmacies has been reported.
Sources
Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.