FDA & regulation

Lilly says it expects FDA approval of its obesity pill in March 2026

Eli Lilly's CEO told investors on Nov. 6, 2025 that the company expected FDA approval of its obesity pill orforglipron by March 2026, a timeline that would put the first daily GLP-1 tablet for weight loss in US pharmacies.

By the Semaglutides news desk·
Lilly says it expects FDA approval of its obesity pill in March 2026
Image: reuters.com

Eli Lilly said on Nov. 6, 2025 that it expected the US Food and Drug Administration to approve orforglipron, its experimental oral obesity drug, by March 2026. The statement came from the company's chief executive [1].

That guidance mattered because orforglipron is a once-daily pill, not an injection. Every GLP-1 medicine approved in the US for weight loss up to that point — semaglutide (sold as Wegovy) and tirzepatide (sold as Zepbound) — is given by injection. Oral semaglutide exists as Rybelsus, but that product is approved for type 2 diabetes rather than weight management.

What the company actually said

The November 2025 statement was narrow. Lilly's CEO gave a target month for FDA action and nothing more was detailed in the report of his remarks [1]. Several things patients usually want to know were not disclosed at that time: the exact FDA decision date, the starting list price, how the drug would be dosed, what the label would say about who qualifies, and how insurers would cover it. None of those details were part of the announcement [1].

It is worth remembering what a company timeline is and is not. Drugmakers routinely tell investors when they expect a regulatory decision. The FDA sets its own schedule, and approval dates can slip. A stated expectation is a forecast, not a commitment from the agency.

The drug did eventually reach the US market under the brand name Foundayo. By Sept. 14, 2026, Lilly was telling the public that Foundayo had captured more than 30% of new US patients starting oral weight-loss drugs [1]. The details behind that market-share figure — how it was measured, over what period, and against which competing products — have not been reported here.

Why it matters for patients

A pill changes some practical things about taking a GLP-1 medicine. Injectable products come in pens that generally need refrigeration before use and require patients to learn an injection technique. A tablet removes both of those steps. For people who have avoided GLP-1 treatment because of needles, or who travel often and struggle with cold storage, that difference can be meaningful.

A pill may also be easier to manufacture at scale than injector pens. That is one reason analysts and patient advocates have watched oral GLP-1 development closely after years of shortages and compounding workarounds in the injectable market. Whether orforglipron actually eased supply pressure, and at what price, is not established by the November 2025 announcement.

Cost and coverage remain the open questions for most US patients. Approval does not mean a medicine is affordable or covered. Employer plans, Medicare and Medicaid each set their own rules for obesity drugs, and those decisions typically come after a product launches, not before. Lilly did not disclose pricing plans in its November 2025 remarks [1].

Efficacy and side effect data also matter more than a launch date. How much weight people lose on orforglipron, how it compares head-to-head with semaglutide or tirzepatide, and how many people stop because of nausea, vomiting or other gastrointestinal effects are questions answered by clinical trial results and the approved label — not by a corporate timeline.

What happens next

  • Nov. 6, 2025: Lilly's CEO says the company expects FDA approval of orforglipron by March 2026 [1].
  • March 2026: The company's stated target window for an FDA decision [1].
  • Sept. 14, 2026: Lilly says Foundayo has taken more than 30% of new US patients starting oral weight-loss drugs [1].

Anyone weighing an oral GLP-1 against an injectable option will want the approved prescribing information and their own plan's formulary, since those carry the specifics that company forecasts do not.

Sources

  1. https://www.reuters.com/business/healthcare-pharmaceuticals/eli-lilly-expects-us-fda-approval-oral-obesity-drug-march-2026-2025-11-06/

Semaglutides.org is for information only and is not medical advice. Always talk to a licensed healthcare provider about your own care. Some links to telehealth services are affiliate links, labeled where they appear.