Regulation

Eli Lilly opens single-patient expanded access for retatrutide

The registration creates a narrow, case-by-case path to an unapproved obesity drug for patients with severe disease, but it requires a doctor's request and both Lilly and FDA agreement.

By the Semaglutides news desk·

Eli Lilly has registered an expanded access program that would let a small number of adults with severe obesity receive retatrutide, an investigational drug, outside of a clinical trial and before any FDA approval.

The listing on ClinicalTrials.gov, record NCT07629401, is dated June 1, 2026, and its expanded access status is listed as "Available" [1]. The expanded access type is "Individual Patients," which under FDA rules covers a single patient at a time, including emergency situations [1].

Who the listing covers

The record describes a narrow group. Patients must be adults with a body mass index of 35 or higher despite the highest tolerated approved therapy, have two or more serious obesity-related complications, and have no accessible clinical trial to join [1]. All three conditions apply together, according to the listing.

Expanded access, sometimes called compassionate use, is defined as a way for patients with serious conditions who cannot participate in a clinical trial to reach a medical product that the FDA has not approved [1]. Because retatrutide is investigational, it has no FDA-approved label, no approved dose, and no approved set of uses [1].

How the request works

The process runs through a physician, not the patient. A doctor must first ask Eli Lilly for the drug, and then request it from the FDA [1]. Both steps are required before any patient could receive it. The registration describes this as the only legal non-trial route to retatrutide in the United States [1].

Several basic details have not been disclosed in the listing. The record does not state how many patients Lilly will accept, whether the company will charge for the drug, how long the program will stay open, how quickly the FDA typically answers a request, or which hospitals or clinics would take part [1]. The record also does not spell out which conditions count as "serious obesity-related complications," or how "highest tolerated approved therapy" is judged [1].

Why it matters for patients

For most people taking or considering a GLP-1 medication, this registration changes little. The criteria are strict: a BMI of 35 or above, at least two serious obesity-related complications, prior use of the highest tolerated approved therapy, and no trial available to join [1]. That leaves out adults with lower BMIs and people who have not yet tried approved treatments.

Access is not automatic and does not depend on a patient asking directly. The request comes from a physician, and it can be refused at either the company or the FDA stage [1]. Expanded access is designed for people who cannot enroll in a trial, not as a general early-access channel [1].

Because retatrutide has not been approved, its benefits and risks have not been established by the FDA, and the agency has not reviewed a label for it [1]. Patients who receive it through this route would be taking an unapproved product, with no published guarantee of continued supply, no listed price and no stated duration of treatment [1]. Nothing in the listing indicates that the drug is available to patients who do not meet all of the stated conditions [1].

What happens next

The registration does not include dated milestones such as a start date, an end date, an enrollment target or a list of participating sites [1]. Lilly has not disclosed those details, and no timeline for a possible FDA decision on retatrutide appears in the record [1]. Until more is posted, the practical steps remain the ones described in the listing: a treating physician contacts Lilly, and then the FDA [1].

Sources

  1. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07629401
  2. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/expanded-access

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.