Business

Amazon Pharmacy adds Lilly's oral GLP-1 Foundayo with same-day delivery

An oral GLP-1 pill is now sold through a major online pharmacy and a discount platform, adding a new way to fill a prescription while coverage and cash prices remain unsettled.

By the Semaglutides news desk·

Amazon Pharmacy has begun dispensing Foundayo (orforglipron), Eli Lilly's oral GLP-1 pill, with same-day delivery, and the drug also became available through the prescription discount platform GoodRx. The two additions push an oral GLP-1 into mainstream e-commerce and consumer discount channels.

The companies have not disclosed what patients will pay, whether insurance is accepted, which metro areas are covered by same-day delivery, or how prescriptions are routed. Those details have not been reported.

The launch lands in a market where GLP-1 distribution has already moved quickly toward direct-to-patient and retail channels. On May 2, 2025, CVS Caremark, the country's largest pharmacy benefit manager, said it selected Novo Nordisk's Wegovy as the preferred GLP-1 on its largest commercial template formularies, effective July 1 [1]. A CVS spokesperson told CNBC that the PBM negotiated a lower net price for Wegovy than for Zepbound on its primary formularies, savings passed on to clients that choose those plans [1].

Cash-pay programs have expanded alongside coverage decisions. Novo Nordisk launched NovoCare Pharmacy in March, offering Wegovy direct to patients at $499 per month, and eligible self-paying patients can get the same price at a local pharmacy [1]. Eli Lilly began selling higher doses of Zepbound for $499 at first fill in late February, with 7.5-milligram and 10-milligram single-dose vials priced at $599 and $699 through its direct-to-consumer platform [1].

Novo Nordisk also expanded its GLP-1 partnership with Humana's CenterWell Pharmacy in late April. Under that arrangement, telehealth providers Hims & Hers Health, LifeMD and Ro work directly with NovoCare to prescribe Wegovy to self-pay patients, while CenterWell manages prescription fulfillment and home delivery [1].

The clinical picture for the injected products continues to develop. A trial published in the New England Journal of Medicine on April 30 found that Wegovy reduced liver inflammation in 63 percent of patients with the serious liver disease MASH, compared with 34.3 percent in the placebo group, and improved liver fibrosis in 37 percent of patients versus 22.4 percent with placebo [1]. Comparable outcome data for oral GLP-1 pills were not reported in that trial.

Why it matters for patients

Where a prescription can be filled, and what it costs, now depends on several separate decisions: the pharmacy benefit manager's formulary, the employer's plan design, and whether a patient pays cash. Commercial plans that adopt the CVS Caremark template formulary will steer to Wegovy [1]. Patients whose coverage excludes a given GLP-1 may still face the cash prices described above, which run from $499 to $699 a month for the products in that report [1].

An oral option changes the logistics of treatment for people who prefer not to inject, but the pill's approved labeling, side effects, and how its results compare with injected semaglutide or tirzepatide have not been reported. Same-day delivery shortens the wait between a prescription and a first dose, but it does not change coverage rules or prior-authorization requirements.

What happens next

The Wegovy preferred status on CVS Caremark's commercial template formularies takes effect July 1 [1]. Amazon Pharmacy and GoodRx have not announced pricing, insurance handling or a national rollout schedule for Foundayo.

Sources

  1. https://www.beckershospitalreview.com/glp-1s/cvs-caremarks-selects-wegovy-as-preferred-glp-1-for-commercial-formularies

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.