Eli Lilly set to face investors on Foundayo pricing and pipeline at Morgan Stanley conference
Lilly's conference appearance comes as Foundayo reaches its first European market and as US list and cash prices for its GLP-1 drugs take shape.
Eli Lilly was scheduled to address investors at Morgan Stanley's 24th Annual Global Healthcare Conference in New York on Sept. 14, 2026, four days after it began selling its oral GLP-1 pill Foundayo (orforglipron) in the United Kingdom [1]. The company was expected to give further detail on its pipeline, pricing and commercialization efforts [1].
UK launch and what it includes
The UK is the first European country where Foundayo, an oral treatment for obesity and type 2 diabetes, is available by private prescription [1]. Britain's drug regulator approved the medicine on Aug. 10, but access through the state-funded National Health Service still depends on a separate review, and no timeline for that review was given [1]. Lilly also holds a wider approval for Mounjaro (tirzepatide) in the US after the Food and Drug Administration extended its label to include reducing cardiovascular risk in high-risk patients with type 2 diabetes [1].
The prices patients may see
Reuters reported that Lilly committed in November to offering Medicare beneficiaries Zepbound (tirzepatide) and orforglipron, marketed as Foundayo, for no more than $50 a month, on top of self-pay discounts through the LillyDirect platform [1]. Through LillyDirect, Zepbound is listed as a multi-dose pen at $299 a month and Foundayo at $149 a month [1]. Reuters also reported that Emgality is offered at $299 per pen and Trulicity at $389 a month through a platform called TrumpRx [1]. These figures are list or cash prices reported for those channels; what individual patients pay depends on insurance, and the amounts are not the same as the UK private market, where no price was reported [1].
Pipeline news alongside the conference
Lilly has also published one-year Phase 3b data showing that the combination of Zepbound and Taltz produced sustained or improving results in patients with obesity and psoriasis or psoriatic arthritis [1]. Separately, after a legal action by Lilly involving the ingredient retatrutide, the FDA tightened its approach to online sellers of unapproved peptide products [1]. The conference is a venue where drugmakers give pipeline updates; Vertex Pharmaceuticals' chief executive used the same event to discuss its renal and cell therapy programs, including a type 1 diabetes cell therapy that has cleared an investigational new drug application [2]. Lilly's own remarks at the conference have not been reported, and it has not disclosed timing for a US type 2 diabetes decision for orforglipron or for a regulatory filing for retatrutide [1].
Lilly shares were quoted at 989.60 euros, 4.3% below their 50-day average of 1,033.56 euros, after a 52-week high of 1,108.20 euros in mid-August [1]. The company paid its regular quarterly dividend earlier in the week [1].
Why it matters for patients
Foundayo is a pill, not an injection, which makes it a different option from the injectable GLP-1 medicines many patients now use [1]. In the UK, it is available only through private prescriptions for now, so NHS patients would have to wait for the separate access review [1]. In the US, the reported cash price of $149 a month through LillyDirect is lower than the $299 a month listed there for Zepbound, and Reuters reported a $50 monthly cap for Medicare beneficiaries taking Zepbound or orforglipron [1]. The Mounjaro label expansion means the medicine is now cleared for an additional use in high-risk type 2 diabetes patients, which could affect what insurers cover for that group [1]. The FDA's move against online sellers of unapproved peptides matters to patients who buy GLP-1-like products outside the prescription system [1].
What happens next
No date has been disclosed for the NHS access review of Foundayo [1]. Lilly has not reported when it will seek a US type 2 diabetes approval for orforglipron, when it will file retatrutide, or whether it gave new pricing or pipeline guidance at the Morgan Stanley conference [1].
Sources
Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.