Business

Novo Nordisk widens CenterWell deal to fill and deliver Wegovy

Novo Nordisk is building out its own Wegovy delivery network while CVS Caremark makes the drug its preferred GLP-1 for many commercial plans, changes that affect where patients fill prescriptions and what they pay.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Wegovy

Novo Nordisk widened its GLP-1 partnership with Humana's CenterWell Pharmacy in late April, giving the pharmacy responsibility for filling and delivering Wegovy prescriptions to patients who buy the drug directly from the manufacturer [1]. The change extends Novo's direct-to-patient distribution network beyond the telehealth companies it announced weeks earlier [1].

The arrangement runs through NovoCare, the direct-to-patient pharmacy Novo Nordisk launched in March 2025. Self-paying patients can get Wegovy for $499 a month through NovoCare, and the same $499 monthly price is available at local pharmacies for patients who qualify [1].

Under the expanded partnership, telehealth providers Hims & Hers Health, LifeMD and Ro will work directly with NovoCare to prescribe Wegovy to patients who pay out of pocket. CenterWell will handle prescription fulfillment and home delivery [1]. Novo Nordisk has not disclosed the financial terms of the CenterWell arrangement, and it has not reported how many patients the delivery network serves [1].

The mail-delivery expansion lands in a market where the two main GLP-1 makers are competing on cash prices. Eli Lilly began selling higher doses of Zepbound, a tirzepatide drug, for $499 at first fill in late February. Later fills of the 7.5-milligram and 10-milligram single-dose vials cost $599 and $699 through Lilly's direct-to-consumer platform [1].

Separately, CVS Caremark said it selected Wegovy as the preferred GLP-1 on its largest commercial template formularies, effective July 1 [1]. A CVS spokesperson told CNBC that the pharmacy benefit manager secured a lower net price for Wegovy than for Zepbound on its primary formularies, savings it said would go to clients that choose those plans [1]. Wegovy is semaglutide; Zepbound is tirzepatide.

Why it matters for patients

For people who pay cash for a GLP-1, the two announcements touch different parts of the buying process. NovoCare and CenterWell determine how a Wegovy prescription is filled and how it reaches a patient's home, and the $499 monthly price applies to self-paying patients, including those who fill at a local pharmacy if they qualify [1].

Formulary decisions matter to a different group: patients whose insurance covers GLP-1 drugs. CVS Caremark's template formularies take effect July 1, and a preferred placement generally means lower cost sharing for that drug and higher or no coverage for drugs left off the list [1]. Whether an individual plan adopts the template, and what a patient pays, depends on the employer or plan that chooses it and has not been disclosed in the CVS announcement [1].

The price gap between the two products is a live issue. Zepbound's cash prices step up from $499 to $599 and $699 as doses increase [1], while NovoCare's advertised Wegovy price is a flat $499 a month [1].

What happens next

July 1 is the effective date for CVS Caremark's preferred placement of Wegovy on its largest commercial template formularies [1]. Novo Nordisk has not disclosed whether it plans to add partners to the NovoCare network beyond the telehealth companies and CenterWell [1].

Sources

  1. https://www.beckershospitalreview.com/glp-1s/cvs-caremarks-selects-wegovy-as-preferred-glp-1-for-commercial-formularies

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.