Novo Nordisk says it is exploring a Wegovy vial as Lilly's Zepbound vials expand
Novo Nordisk is weighing a vial version of Wegovy after Eli Lilly's Zepbound vials, a change that could affect how the drug is packaged and sold, though no timeline or price has been disclosed.

Novo Nordisk says it is exploring a vial version of Wegovy, its injectable semaglutide for weight management, following Eli Lilly's rollout of single-dose vials of the competing drug tirzepatide [1]. The company confirmed the plan in a Reuters report published February 11, 2026 [1].
"We are exploring various device presentations for Wegovy, including vials — some are launching this year, others are coming in the future," the company said in that report [1].
Novo Nordisk has not said when a Wegovy vial would reach pharmacies, what doses it would contain or what it would cost [1]. The statement also did not specify which of the presentations it is exploring are expected in 2026 and which are further out [1].
What Wegovy looks like today
Wegovy was first approved in June 2021 for chronic weight management in adults with obesity or overweight who also have at least one related condition, such as hypertension, type 2 diabetes or high cholesterol, to be used alongside diet and exercise [1]. Its label was expanded in 2024 to include adults with cardiovascular disease [1]. In late 2025, the FDA approved a once-daily oral semaglutide 25 mg for weight management — described as the first GLP-1 therapy approved for that use, and Wegovy's third formulation [1]. The drug is currently sold as an injection and as a pill [1].
Lilly moved first on vials. It began releasing single-dose Zepbound (tirzepatide) vials in 2.5 mg and 5 mg strengths in 2024 and added 7.5 mg and 10 mg vials in 2025, steps the company described as expanding supply and access for adults living with obesity [1].
Separately, research on this drug class continues. A review published in PeerJ reported that GLP-1 receptor agonists lower chronic inflammation markers such as CRP and TNF-alpha, both indirectly through weight loss and directly by binding to receptors on immune cells, with the strongest improvements seen in patients treated for at least 36 weeks [1]. A larger meta-analysis of more than 6,000 patients, published in Frontiers in Endocrinology, reported significant CRP reductions versus placebo and versus other oral diabetes therapies, while effects on IL-6 were mixed across studies [1].
Why it matters for patients
How a GLP-1 drug is packaged is tied to how it is priced and who can get it. Lilly framed its Zepbound vial rollout around supply and access [1], but Novo Nordisk has not said whether a Wegovy vial would be sold through insurance, through a cash-pay program or both, and no price has been disclosed [1].
Discount programs already exist for the current formats. Meijer pharmacies in the Midwest are accepting NovoCare savings programs that bring the two lowest-dose Wegovy or Ozempic injection pens to $199 per month for the first two months, as long as prescriptions are filled by March 31, 2026 [1]. After that promotional period, most dose levels are listed at $349 per month, with the highest Ozempic dose at $499 per month [1]. Qualifying patients can pay $149 per month for oral Wegovy, with insurance co-pays as low as $25 [1]. A NovoCare coupon is required, and insurance is not [1].
Until a vial is available, adults starting or staying on Wegovy are choosing between a pen injection and a once-daily pill [1]. Novo Nordisk has not reported whether a vial would use a different dose range, a different injection routine or a different supply chain than the current pen [1].
What happens next
Novo Nordisk said some Wegovy device presentations are launching this year and others are coming later, without identifying which ones fall into each group [1].
The NovoCare introductory pricing at Meijer applies to prescriptions filled by March 31, 2026 [1]. Beyond those two points, no dated milestones for a Wegovy vial have been reported [1].
Images from the sources


Sources
Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.