Prices

Starbucks to end GLP-1 weight-loss coverage for employees in October 2026

Starbucks will stop covering GLP-1 drugs prescribed for weight loss in October 2026 while keeping diabetes coverage, shifting the cost of weight-loss treatment to affected workers.

By the Semaglutides news desk·
Starbucks to end GLP-1 weight-loss coverage for employees in October 2026
Image: insurancebusinessmag.com

Starbucks confirmed it will end employer-sponsored coverage for GLP-1 medications when they are prescribed for weight loss, effective October 2026 [1]. Coverage continues when the same medications are prescribed for diabetes and other approved conditions [1].

The change applies to benefits-eligible employees. At Starbucks, that group includes workers logging at least 20 hours per week [1]. Starbucks has not disclosed which specific GLP-1 products are affected, how employees already in treatment will be handled, or whether any transition period or exception process will apply. Those details have not been reported.

The announcement came as part of a wider round of large-employer benefit reductions announced or confirmed the week of Aug. 25, 2026, ahead of the 2027 renewal cycle [1]. Walt Disney Company will stop covering working spouses under its health plan in 2027 where those spouses have access to employer-sponsored coverage elsewhere, a change affecting its more than 200,000 US employees [1]. Bloomberg LP will begin requiring monthly employee premium contributions for the first time in its history, with no amounts or effective date specified [1]. Deloitte will cut paid parental leave for its "Center" talent segment from 16 weeks to eight, discontinue a $50,000 adoption and surrogacy reimbursement program that also covered IVF costs for that group, and stop pension accruals after Dec. 31, with the changes effective Jan. 1, 2027 [1]. Zoom Video Communications cut paid parental leave for birthing employees from a range of 22 to 24 weeks to 18 weeks, and for non-birthing parents from 16 weeks to 10 [1].

Starbucks' decision tracks a broader employer retreat from weight-loss drug coverage [1]. A 2026 survey by Mercer found that 6% of large employers dropped GLP-1 weight-loss coverage in 2026, with a further 5% planning to do so in 2027 [1]. The International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans reported that GLP-1 drugs accounted for 11.4% of corporate employers' total annual health claims in 2024, up from 6.9% in 2023 [1].

Cost pressure is the backdrop for the group of announcements. Aon projected a 9.5% increase in employer healthcare costs for 2027, drawing on data from more than 1,100 US employers covering $135 billion in health spending. Average per-employee spending would exceed $19,000, the fourth consecutive year of near double-digit increases [1].

Why it matters for patients

GLP-1 coverage rules often turn on why the drug is prescribed rather than which drug it is. Under Starbucks' change, a prescription written for weight loss loses plan coverage, while the same medication written for diabetes keeps it [1]. What counts as "other approved conditions" beyond diabetes is not itemized in the announcement, and it has not been reported whether employees can seek an exception for a weight-loss prescription.

The change takes effect in October 2026, which is not a typical plan-year boundary. Whether employees already taking a GLP-1 for weight loss can finish a current authorization period, or must move to paying out of pocket in October, has not been disclosed. The price employees would face without insurance coverage is not stated in the announcement, and the source material does not include cost figures for any specific product.

Starbucks' eligibility threshold of 20 hours a week means a substantial share of its workforce qualifies for benefits, but the company has not said how many employees currently use a GLP-1 for weight loss or how much the benefit cost.

The broader pattern is worth noting for anyone whose coverage renews in 2027. The Mercer and International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans figures describe an industry moving away from weight-loss coverage, not one company's decision [1].

What happens next

October 2026 is when the Starbucks change takes effect [1]. Deloitte's cuts to parental leave, adoption and surrogacy reimbursement, and pension accruals for its Center segment begin Jan. 1, 2027 [1]. Disney's spousal coverage change applies in 2027 [1]. Employers with calendar-year plans are already in the 2027 open enrollment cycle, and 5% of large employers surveyed by Mercer said they plan to drop GLP-1 weight-loss coverage in 2027 [1]. Starbucks has not announced any follow-up changes beyond the October 2026 effective date.

Images from the sources

Starbucks to end GLP-1 weight-loss coverage for employees in October 2026
insurancebusinessmag.com

Sources

  1. https://www.insurancebusinessmag.com/us/news/benefits/corporate-roundup-disney-bloomberg-starbucks-deloitte-and-zoom-cut-benefits-587330.aspx
  2. https://kffhealthnews.org/morning-briefing/tuesday-september-8-2026

Semaglutides.org provides information only, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own care before making changes. Some telehealth links are affiliate links and are labeled where they appear.