Business

Kroger adds the Zepbound pen to its retail self-pay program

Kroger will now stock the Zepbound KwikPen and honor Eli Lilly's self-pay savings card at its pharmacy counters, giving cash-paying patients a new retail option for the weight-loss drug.

By the Semaglutides news desk··Zepbound

Kroger announced on March 13, 2026, that Zepbound® KwikPen, Eli Lilly's multi-dose delivery device for tirzepatide, is now available at participating Kroger Family of Pharmacies locations [1]. The company said this is the first time self-pay patients can use Lilly's KwikPen Self-Pay Savings Card for Zepbound at a retail pharmacy counter [1].

Colleen Lindholz, Group Vice President and President of Kroger Health, said the move responds to demand for "affordable, effective weight-management treatment options with real affordability" [1]. Kroger pharmacists will help patients sort through insurance benefits, manufacturer savings programs, and discount cards, since coverage and pricing vary by patient [1]. The announcement did not include specific price figures or how much patients might save under the card [1].

Kroger is framing this as more than a transaction. The company said patients filling GLP-1 prescriptions can also get pharmacist counseling on how the drug works and how to manage side effects, virtual nutrition consultations with registered dietitians, and referrals connecting pharmacy staff to The Little Clinic and other providers [1]. Kroger also pointed to its grocery aisles stocked with protein- and fiber-rich foods as a feature it says sets it apart, letting patients fill a prescription and shop for food in one stop [1].

The source material does not specify which other retailers already offer Zepbound through a similar self-pay channel, nor does it provide data on what share of new Zepbound prescriptions nationally are being filled through direct-pay programs rather than insurance. Those figures are not available in the announcement and are not yet confirmed elsewhere.

Why it matters for patients

For people without insurance coverage for Zepbound, or those whose plans require high copays or prior authorization, a manufacturer savings card usable at a major grocery pharmacy chain could mean one less hurdle to picking up medication. Kroger's announcement suggests that self-pay access to obesity medications is expanding beyond specialty pharmacies and mail-order channels into everyday retail settings [1].

However, the announcement does not disclose the actual cash price of Zepbound KwikPen at Kroger, the discount amount under the savings card, or eligibility rules such as income limits or insurance-status requirements. Patients considering this route will need to check with a Kroger pharmacist or Lilly's savings program directly, since the company states that "insurance coverage and pricing vary by individual" [1].

It is also not yet known from this source how widely available the KwikPen will be across Kroger's pharmacy footprint, since the announcement says the option applies to "participating" locations without listing which stores or states are included [1].

What happens next

Kroger did not provide a timeline for expanding KwikPen availability to additional stores, nor did it say whether it plans to add other GLP-1 products, such as semaglutide-based Wegovy or Ozempic, to the same self-pay arrangement [1]. Whether other retail pharmacy chains follow with similar self-pay savings-card partnerships for Zepbound, and how that affects the overall mix of insured versus self-pay prescriptions nationally, is not addressed in the available source and remains to be seen.

Sources

  1. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/kroger-brings-zepbound-kwikpen-to-retail-pharmacy-expanding-access-and-savings-for-self-pay-patients-302713400.html

Semaglutides.org is for information only and is not medical advice. Always talk to a licensed healthcare provider about your own care. Some links to telehealth services are affiliate links, labeled where they appear.